Bangladesh Premier League 2012 BPL Season 1 Winner Match Highlights

Dhaka Gladiators defeated Barisal Burners in the final match of BPL 2012 and lifted the title. Batting first, Burners scored 140 runs in 20 overs. The rival team successfully chased the target of 141 runs in 15.4 overs with the loss of just 2 wickets. Registering a stylish victory in the finale, Gladiators became the first team to won the championship. Batsmen as well as bowlers played crucial roles in the team’s victory.

Gladiators won the toss and invited the foes’ team to bat first. Burners’ opener batsmen Ahmed Shehzad and BJ Hodge played pivotal roles in forming the base for team’s total score. Shehzad scored 28 runs in 20 balls while Hodge smashed 70 runs in 51 balls. Ahmed lost his wicket in fifth over of the game and decline of his team’s batting lineup began. Next batsmen P Mustard, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque, Farhad Hossain, Yasir Arafat, Kabir Ali and Alauddin Babu failed to score maximum runs.

When a major chunk of the top and middle order of batting lineup didn’t manage to get stabilized on the ground, Hodge rendered his one man battle very smartly and helped his team from getting trapped in the worst situation. Hodge remained not out till the last of ball of his team’s batting inning. He hit four sixes and 4 fours to score 70 runs with the strike rate of 137.25. Shahid Afridi picked up three wickets while Naved-ul-Hassan took 2 wickets.

Chasing the target of 141 runs, Imran Nazir and Nazimuddin kicked off the batting inning with monstrous commencement. Nazir hit 6 fours and 6 sixes to score 75 runs in 43 balls and lessened the gap between required runs and balls remaining to score those runs. Nazimuddin couldn’t assist his companion with a good score and lost his wicket after scoring 13 runs in 12 balls. Anamul Haque came to bat next and stormed 49 runs in 38 balls. The cricketer hit five fours and 1 six to score those runs.

Meanwhile, Nazir lost his wicket in the fifteenth over. His dismissal didn’t affect the team’s performance as the team had already reached near victory. Azhar Mahmood remained not out at the non-striker’s end and Haque hit the finishing shot. Suhrawadi Shuvo and Alauddin Babu picked up one wicket each while other bowlers went wicketless in the game. By loosing only two wickets, Dhaka Gladiators successfully chased the target to win the match as well as the title.