Bangladesh Premier League 2016 BPL 4 Winner Match Highlights

In the final match of BPL 2016, Dhaka Dynamites defeated Rajshahi Kings to win the title. Winning the by 56 runs, Dhaka’s team became champions from the third time in history of Bangladesh Premier League. After winning the first and second season, the team triumphed its third championship by beating Rajshahi Kings by 56 runs in the important final match. Kings failed to chase target of 160 runs in 20 overs and lost its all wickets by the end of 18th over.

After winning the toss, Rajshahi Kings opted to bowl first. Dhaka Dynamites’ opener batsmen Mehedi Maruf and Evin Lewis started the inning with moderate performance. Maruf returned to pavilion after scoring 12 runs in 10 balls. While Lewis was strong at other end, with an individual score of 45 runs in 31 balls, top order batsmen at the other end of strike couldn’t accompany him properly. Nasir Hossain and Mosaddek Hossain lost their wickets in the early stage of the game.

Wicket-keeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara came to bat next after the dismissal of two main players. The left arm Sri Lankan batsman scored 36 runs in 33 balls. After Lewis’s dismissal in 11th over of the first inning, next batsmen failed to score maximum individual runs and returned to pavilion by showcasing derogatory performance on the ground. Dwayne Bravo and skipper Shakid al Hasan merely reached the double scores and lost their wickets too early.

Andre Russell and Allauddin Babu too didn’t manage to perform well in the end. The team ended up scoring 159 runs in 20 overs with the loss nine wickets. Farhad Reza picked up three wickets while Kesrick Williams, Mehidy Hasan, Afif Hossain, Darren Sammy and Samit Patel took one wicket each. Rest all bowlers went wicketless in the inning. With the stuttering start, Rajshahi Kings started the run-chase with loosing its first wicket in third over of the 2nd inning.

After Nurul Hasan returned to pavilion by scoring 5 runs in 8 balls, Sabbir Rahman came to bat next. Partnership between Monimul Haque and Rahman was becoming stronger with their consistent performance. However, Rahman’s run out in tenth over broke the partnership and hampered their balanced strategy of chasing the target. After scoring 26 runs in 22 balls, Rahman walked back to the pavilion. Haque was still struggling at the other end of strike.

Next batsman Samit Patel made a mere contribution in the overall run chase and scored 17 runs in 12 balls. He also was dismissed too early by the adversary bowlers. Haque lost his wicket in eleventh over and the cricketers, who were about to bat next, didn’t manage to stabilize on the pitch and chase the target by scoring required runs. The team lost its all wickets in 11th over and could score only 103 runs. Bottom order of the batting lineup perform worst in the last stage of the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *