Chittagong Vikings beat Rangpur Riders in 7th match of BPL 2017

Chittagong Vikings defeated Rangpur Riders in the seventh match of ongoing Bangladesh Premier League. Batting first, Vikings scored 166 runs and Rangpur Riders failed to chase the target of 167 runs in 20 overs. The team ended up scoring 155 runs in 120 balls. Taskin Ahmed received ‘Player of the Match’ award for his excellent performance in today’s BPL match.

After winning the toss, Chittagong Vikings opted to bat first. The decision seemed incorrect when Soumya Sarkar, one of its opener batsmen, lost wicket in the early phase of the game. Other cricketers in top order of the batting lineup performed excellently to set a big score in twenty overs.

Opener batsman Luke Ronchi played vital role in cementing a strong base for team’s total score. Hitting 7 sixes and 7 fours, the cricketer scored 78 runs in 35 balls. Sri Lankan player Dilshan Munaweera and Luis Reece accompanied him at other end of strike. Dilshan scored 20 runs in 17 balls while Reece scored 10 runs in 16 balls.

After Luke Ronchi lost his wicket in 16th over, Misbah-Ul_Haq came to bat next. The Pakistani cricketer was accompanied by Anamul Haque in the end. Misbah hit 31 runs in 32 balls while Haque scored 17 runs in 14 balls. The team ended up scoring 166 runs in 20 overs with the loss of four wickets.

English cricketer Ravi Bopara picked up two wickets while Mashrafe Mortaza and Thisara Parera managed to take one wicket each. Lasith Malinga, Sohag Gazi, Nazmul Islam and Samiullah Shenwari went wicketless in the game. Rangpur Riders began the run-chase with a decent start as the team lost wickets of its opener batsmen in initial phase of the game.

Johnson Charles and Ziaur Rahman lost their wickets in first and second over of the game. Mohammad Mithun and Ravi Bopara came to bat next after the opener batsmen’s dismissal. Mithun scored 23 runs in 15 balls while the English cricketer hit 38 runs in 32 balls. Mithun returned to pavilion after he lost his wicket in 6th over of the inning.

Shahriar Nafees accompanied Bopara for the further run-chase. Nafees scored 26 runs in 23 balls and was bowled out by Taskin Ahmed in 13th over. Batsmen in bottom order of the batting lineup could not add enough runs to the total score which they were trying to chase. Thisara Parera and Mashrafe Mortaza scored 11 runs and 13 runs, respectively.

Sohag Gazi and Lasith Malinga remained not out in the end. Gazi scored 11 runs in 11 balls and Malinga hit 14 runs in 10 balls. Both tried their hard to score the required runs, but failed to do so. Thus, Chittagong Vikings won the match by 11 runs. Taskin Ahmed’s performance in bowling made him the star player of the day.