Comilla Victorians defeat Rajshahi Kings in 12th match of BPL 2017

Beating Rajshahi Kings, Comilla Victorians won the 12th match of BPL 2017 by nine wickets. Batting first, Rajshahi Kings scored 115 runs in 20 overs. The team lost its seven wickets while scoring those runs. Victorians successfully chased the mere triple digit target in sixteen overs with the loss of only one wicket.

After winning the toss, Victorians opted to bowl first. Opener batsmen of Rajshahi Kings stepped into the field to commence the first inning of the match. Partnership between Lendl Simmons and Mominul Haque could not last for long time. Mominul Haque scored 2 runs in 7 balls and lost his wicket fourth over of the batting inning.

Next batsman Rony Talukdar too failed to score huge runs for the team and returned to pavilion without scoring a single run. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim came to bat next and scored 16 runs in 14 balls. Simmons was strong at the other end of strike. The West Indian cricketer hit 6 fours and 1 six to 40 runs in 23 balls.

The Caribbean cricketer had to return to pavilion due to physical injury. After the dismissal of Rahim in 9th over of the game, players in middle order of the batting lineup couldn’t manage to stabilize on the ground. James Franklin, Mehidy Hasan and Malcolm Waller lost their wickets after scoring single digit runs individually.

Farhad Reza and Mohammad Sami showcased satisfactory performance in the end and added some runs in the total score of their team. Reza scored 25 runs in 30 balls while Sami scored 10 runs in 16 balls. The inning ended with Rajshahi Kings’ total score of 115 runs in 20 overs. Mohammad Nabi picked up three wickets while Al-Amin Hossain, Rashid Khan and Dwayne Bravo took one wicket each.

Comilla Victorians started the run-chase with a good run rate. Opener batsmen Liton Das and Jos Buttler played crucial roles in cementing a strong base for the team’s total score. Hitting 2 fours and 2 sixes, Das scored 23 runs in 12 balls. After he lost his wicket in 2nd over, Imrul Kayes replaced him as the next batsman.

Partnership between Buttler and Kayes continued to add more runs in the overall score of their team. Buttler scored 50 runs in 39 balls while Kayes hit 44 runs in 41 balls. The two cricketers remained not out till the end of the match and made their team win the game. Rashid Khan received ‘Player of the Match’ award for his excellent bowling performance in the match.