Khulna Titans win against Chittagong Vikings in 11th match of BPL 2017

Beating Chittagong Vikings by 18 runs, Khulna Titans registered victory in the 11th match BPL 2017. Titans batted first in the game and scored 170 runs in 20 overs. The team successfully defended the huge triple digit score and didn’t let the opponents reach it. Chittagong Vikings ended up scoring 152 runs in 20 overs.

All it began with Chittagong team winning the toss and electing to bowl first. Titans had a decent start to its batting inning as the opener batsmen could not score much runs to give a better start to the inning. Chadwick Walton and Nazmul Hossain Shanto scored 5 runs and 9 runs, respectively.

Michael Klinger and Rilee Russouw batted next after the dismissal of opener cricketers. Klinger returned to pavilion with single digit individual score (2 runs). Rossouw scored 25 runs in 26 balls. After his dismissal in tenth over, team’s captain Mahmudullah and Ariful Haque played crucial role in taking the team’s total score beyond triple digit figure.

Hitting 2 sixes and 2 fours, Mahmudullah scored 40 runs in 33 balls. Haque made 40 runs in 25 balls. He hit 4 sixes and 2 four. Mahmudullah lost his wicket in 16th over and Caribbean cricketer Carlos Brathwaite replaced him as a next batsman. The right handed West Indian smashed 2 fours and 3 sixes to score 30 runs in 14 balls.

Jofra Chioke Archer¬†batted in the end and added 11 runs in the team’s overall score. Archer hit 1 four and 1 six to score those runs. Bangladeshi bowler Taskin Ahmed picked up three wickets in this match. Sunzamul Islam took two wickets while Dilshan Munaweera and Subashish Roy managed to pick up one wicket each.

Vikings began the run-chase with a poor start. Opener batsmen Luke Ronchi and Soumya Sarkar lost their wickets in initial stage of the game. Anamul Haque and Dilshan Munaweera batted next after the dismissals of opener cricketers. Haque scored 18 runs in 14 balls while Dilshan made 10 runs in 5 balls.

After these two players in top order of batting lineup returned to pavilion with mere double digit individual runs, Pakistani cricketer Misbah Ul Haq and Sikandar Raza stepped into the field to take the team’s total score to next level. Haq scored 30 runs in 37 balls while Raza made 37 runs in 27 balls. Raza hit 4 fours and 2 six.

Partnership between Haq and Raza could last long. Raza lost his wicket in 14th over while Haq returned to pavilion in 16th over. Next batsmen Luis Reece and Tanbir Hayder tried their best to bring victory for their team. After scoring 22 runs in 17 balls, Reece lost his wicket in 19th over. Tanbir scored 14 runs in 10 balls.

Vikings lost seven wicket while chasing the target, but failed to reach it. The team ended up scoring 152 runs in 20 overs. Abu Jayed picked up four wickets while¬†Jofra Chioke Archer, Shafiul Islam and Carlos Brathwaite took one wicket each. Abu Jayed won the ‘Player of the Match’ award for his excellent bowling performance in this game.