Rajshahi Kings defeat Comilla Victorians in 27th match of BPL 2017

Defeating Comilla Victorians by 30 runs, Rajshahi Kings clinched victory in the 27th match of BPL 2017. Batting first, Rajshahi Kings scored 185 runs in 20 overs. Victorians failed to chase target of 186 runs in 120 balls and ended up scoring 155 runs in 19.1 overs. The team lost all ten wickets while chasing the target. Darren Sammy won ‘Player of the Match’ award for his excellent performance in today’s game.

After winning the toss, Rajshahi Kings elected to bat first. Opener batsmen Dwayne Smith and Mominul Haque commenced the inning by scoring the runs with an average rate. The Caribbean cricketer scored 19 runs in 18 balls while his companion hit 23 runs in 16 balls. After the two cricketers lost their wickets in consecutive overs, Luke Wright and Zakir Hasan came to bat next.

Wright played crucial role in taking the team’s total score beyond triple digit figure. Hasan assisted his teammate by scoring 20 runs in 15 balls. Luke Wright failed to complete his half century and returned to pavilion after scoring 42 runs in 26 balls. Next batsmen Mushfiqur Rahim and James Franklin could not score huge runs for the team and lost their wickets too early.

Next batsman and team’s skipper Darren Sammy left the audiences stunned with his monstrous performance. The West Indian cricketer hit 6 sixes and 1 four to score 47 runs 14 balls. Sammy’s knock was the turning point the first inning. With his major contribution, Rajshahi Kings managed to surpass the score of 150 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 7 wickets.

Comilla Victorians’ bowler Mohammad Saifuddin picked up three wickets while his teammate Hasan Ali took two wickets. Al-Amin Hossain picked up one wicket and rest all other bowlers in the team went wicketless. Long run-chase seemed uneasy for Comilla Victorians when the batsmen in top order of batting lineup lost wickets in the early stage of the game.

Scoring 2 runs in 5 balls, opener batsman Fakhar Zaman lost his wicket in the first over. In 2nd over, next batsman Imrul Kayes returned to pavilion without scoring a single run. Bangladeshi cricketer Tamim Iqbal was strong at the other end of strike. The left handed batsman kept the spectators’ hopes alive by scoring the runs with the required run rate.

Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik accompanied the left arm cricketer and their partnership took the team’s overall score beyond the triple digit figure. Iqbal hit 63 runs in 45 balls while Malik scored 45 runs in 26 balls. After Malik lost his wicket in 12th over of the match, no batsman in middle order of the batting lineup managed to contribute majorly in scoring maximum runs for the team.

English cricketer Jos Buttler and Bangladeshi cricketer Hasan Ali scored 15 runs and 16 runs, respectively. The two players failed to overwhelm the aggression of bowlers from opposite side and lost their wickets in the final stage of the match. Meanwhile, Iqbal lost his wicket in 15th over and Rajshahi Kings totally lost its control over the game. Lower order of the batting lineup too didn’t manage to score the required runs.